The future is bright at ICT says Chairman after gaining SFA “Progressive” Performance Award>

Inverness Caledonian Thistle FC is delighted to learn today (Wednesday) that it has attained the SFA“Progressive” Performance Award within the Project Brave initiative. This is the result of dedicated work by the Football Development  Department at the club, supported by the Management Team and the Directors, who are committed to promoting youth football within the community and bringing through young local players into the first team.

171007 peterhead mackay danThe status means that ICT will play at under 11, under 12, under 13, under 14, under 15, under 16, under 18 and under 20 level in performance fixtures from the start of the new year, competing with 9 other clubs at this “Progressive” level.

Chairman Graham Rae said: “This is great news for the club and I hope demonstrates very clearly our commitment to developing our own talent.   Our youth teams are giving the club a huge boost right now.  Daniel Mackay became the youngest player to play for the club in the recent cup tie against Peterhead, scoring only minutes after coming on as a substitute.  It was great to see the entire team engulf young Daniel to congratulate him on his scoring debut.  Daniel is one of a host of young players in our excellent youth set up with the potential to make it to the first team and beyond.”

The chairman added:  This is what we all want at our club – to see our young players develop as they come through the ranks and challenge hard for a place in the senior squad.   Ryan Christie and Graeme Shinnie came through our youth set up and it was rewarding to see them get a call up to the Scottish squad. Ryan made a very impressive debut and I’m sure Graeme’s time will come soon,  They have proved it can be done and this is a huge incentive for our young players.The future for ICT is bright with our team of excellent coaches and outstanding young players.”

The club is currently running a number of youth teams, all of whom are performing very well.  The club is working with players from under 9 upwards to under 17, with squads for under 11s, under 12s, under 13s, under 14s under 15s and under 17s.  As well as boys from Inverness, Nairn and the surrounding areas we also have boys from Wick, Aviemore, Elgin, Banff, Fort William and Orkney and Stornaway.

Danny MacDonald, Chief Operating Officer at ICT, said: “We have an excellent team of dedicated coaches and support staff who supervise the squads, taking them away very early some Sunday mornings to play in their respective development leagues. We are very grateful to parents and guardians of our players for their huge support. We fully support the SFA Project Brave initiative and are thrilled to gain the “Progressive” Award. Today’s announcement is a reward for all the hard work that our team has put in.”

He paid tribute to Fiona McWilliams, Head of Academy Operations, for all the hard work she had dedicated to the submission to the SFA.

Here are the squads  of the ICT youth teams:

Under 17s :  Daniel Rae, Cameron Harper, Ryan Fyffe, Harry Nicolson, Jack Brown, Lewis Mitchell, Daniel MacKay, Sean McWilliams, Roddy Kennedy, Ross Gunn, Roddy MacGregor, Donald Morrison, Gabriel Hastings, Ronan McBride, Roddy Innes, Fraser Russell, Lewis Hyde.

Under 15s : Louis Jones, Jacob Kerr, Matthew Wilson, Grant Hogg, Millar Gamble, Kane Davies, Robbie MacKenzie, Matthew Black, Shane Harkness, Thomas Lewis, Stuart Campbell, Caillean Eaglesham, Thomas MacMorran, Gordon Megson, Kieran Driver, Cameron Scott.

Under 14s : Ruardhri Nicol, Cameron Hoath, Lewis Nicolson, Andrew Lewthwaite, Rory Williamson, Kenny MacInnes, Robbie Thompson, Ethan Cairns, Jamie McConnell, Ross Gordon, Ben Barron, Jamie MacKay, Dean Boyce, Leon MacLellan, Alasdair Riddle, Archie Atkinson.

Under 13s : Charlie Eaglesham, Max McLachlan, Alex Davidson, Evan Davidson, Matthew Strachan, Jamie Carnihan, Calum MacKay, Duncan Proudfoot, Aaron Nicolson, Calum MacLeod, Fergus Tebb, Owen MacDonald, Lewis Munro, Keenan Souter, Jamie Young, Aidan Cruickshank, Caelan Mutch, Danny Gillan.

Under 12s : Reuben Douglas, Jack Walker, Aaron Snyder, Sam Nixon, Vinnie Ingleby, Joshua Stephenson, Shae Keogh, Ruairi Duncan, Jonathan Bain, Christie MacKay, Rhys Fairley, Kieran Willox, Owen Galbraith, Sam Thompson, Alistair Nixon, Daniel MacDougall, Corey Patterson.

Under 11s : Lennox MacLellan, Scott MacKay, Calan Munro, Evan Scales, Cole Cameron, Ross MacLeod, Grant Rhind, Leo Walker, Daniel Fraser, Chevy Thomson, Dylan Allan, Ben Gardiner, Kyle MacDonald, Ben Cruickshank, Connor Cornish, Jay MacKay, Ross Murphy, Matthew Pearce, Ben Corner.